A letter to the friend I loved

Ikenna Nwakanma
1 min readMay 11, 2023
Photo by Egor Vikhrev on Unsplash

I know you will see this message
And where I am coming from, I hope you envisage.
I must admit that it’s been beautiful
Learning to have a friend like you.
I’ve grown so much in our time together
We’ve hugged our way through storms and bad weather.

I admit it’s been a long journey
Since I met you at work that fateful morning
So much about myself I have come to learn
So much time, but you never saw how much I cared.

Now I have fallen deeply in love
But you never believed me when I said the words.
You convinced me that I could never be more than a friend.
And I can’t continue to torture myself
Else, these emotions will see to my end

Know that I have no quarrel
I want no beef and no dramas
You must understand why I have to avoid you
In truth, I know I’ll miss you
But enduring all of this is of no essence.
P.s. The friend you knew was different

The Power of Poetry: A May 2023 Reflection. Community Rules

--

--