Be Steel in the Chaos

Ikenna Nwakanma
2 min readDec 4, 2022

--

Photo by Daniel Lloyd Blunk-Fernández on Unsplash

Tell me, what do you see looking back? Tell me if you notice the gap in between. I wonder if you remember the darker days? The days when you believed the end was all too real.

I wonder if the gap amazes you. Well, I for one am amazed. I do look back. You see, If I never paused to take a step back and really look, I couldn’t notice how far I’ve come. If you’re here now, I know you’ve come a long way too. We’ve all travelled long and hard to get to where we are now. Believe me when I tell you, those odds you faced back there, are not spoken of in any storybooks.

Holding on to faith comes harder for some of us. And hope can quickly vanish, like vapour on a cold morning. Be calm. For, if there’s one thing you can take from the pause you’ve had and all you’ve come to realise, it’s the courage to know that you can keep pushing. That you can achieve again. That you can keep moving on, to hit new and majestic heights!

I want you to know that you can rely on yourself. You can trust yourself to do it again and do it even better than you did before. I want you to know that you’ve grown stronger in that time up till now. That you were bent, but didn’t break. You were stretched and deformed, but stood your ground. The world shook and trembled around you. Bricks fell and lintels turned to dust. Yet you stood firm, in the midst of all the chaos. Like steel built to always hold that line!

Hold that line soldier.

--

--